Rankings in SEO refer to the position of a website or web page on search engine results pages (SERPs) in response to a specific query. Website rankings for keywords vary from search engine to search engine. They all use different algorithms to determine the relevance and authority of a website and to rank them accordingly. The higher a website ranks, the more visibility it has and the more traffic it is likely to receive.
But how do you keep track of their progress when you have hundreds or thousands of keywords to focus on? A rank change summary won’t help you in this case, because you don’t know if some of your important high-volume queries have dropped, or if low-volume keywords have dropped from 50th to 60th position.
This is exactly why Marketing Miner uses the SERP visibility metric, which represents estimated traffic that tracked queries can bring to your project.
How to calculate SERP visibility?
This metric represents the estimated monthly traffic from tracked keywords in a project. It is defined as the ratio of query search volume to the click-through rate of a current ranking position.
The output is a metric that reflects rank shifts based on their potential. A drop from the 1st to the 3rd position in search results for the tracked query has a much greater impact on SERP visibility than a drop from the 50th to the 53rd position.
How is the CTR of positions calculated?
A click-through rate of individual positions in search results is estimated based on external research. CTR of ranks in search results is estimated based on available data.
The following table is the output and it shows the estimated CTR of positions in search engines:
The above table is used to calculate the SERP visibility score. For example, if a query has a search volume of 100 and your project is ranking on 1st position in Google search results, the SERP visibility is calculated as:
100 * 0.1935 = 19.35
The first position for a given query will probably bring you almost 20 visits per month and the SERP visibility metric will increase by exactly that amount.
How is SERP visibility used?
This metric is found in the project summary and reflects how successful the site is in terms of search results. It can be used to track the impact of your SEO activities without having to check rankings for individual keywords.